American Academy of the Arts and Sciences 2007 Fellows

jacket image
The American Academy of the Arts and Sciences has announced the selection of their 2007 fellows. We were pleased to note that eleven University of Chicago Press authors and editors were honored with this impressive distinction. A press release on the Academy’s website quotes the organization’s president Emilio Bizzi saying: “Fellows are selected through a highly competitive process that recognizes individuals who have made preeminent contributions to their disciplines and to society at large.” This year’s recipients include:
Michael Christ, lead editor of Harmonic Analysis and Partial Differential Equations: Essays in Honor of Alberto P. Calderon
David M. Cutler, editor of The Changing Hospital Industry: Comparing Not-for-Profit and For-Profit Institutions and coeditor of Medical Care Output and Productivity.
John A. Goldsmith, coauthor of The Chicago Guide to Your Academic Career: A Portable Mentor for Scholars from Graduate School through Tenure and editor of The Last Phonological Rule: Reflections on Constraints and Derivations.
Robert Pogue Harrison, author of The Dominion of the Dead and Forests: The Shadow of Civilization.
Mary Power, coeditor of Food Webs at the Landscape Level.
N. Gregory Mankiw, editor of Monetary Policy.
Anna J. Schwartz, author of Money in Historical Perspective.
John L. Sullivan, coauthor of Political Tolerance and American Democracy.
Bruce Winstein, coeditor of Kaon Physics.
Wu Hung, author of Remaking Beijing: Tiananmen Square and the Creation of a Political Space, Transience: Chinese Experimental Art at the End of the Twentieth Century, and The Double Screen: Medium and Representation in Chinese Painting.
Robert Jeffrey Zimmer, president of the University of Chicago and author of Essential Results of Functional Analysis.