Art and Architecture, Awards

What is Contemporary Art? wins the Mather Award

jacket image
We are pleased to announce that Terry Smith, author of What Is Contemporary Art? has won the 2010 Frank Jewett Mather Award for Art Criticism. The award, given each year by the College Art Association, is considered one of the most important in art criticism and will be presented to Smith on the evening of Wednesday, February 10 at the CAA’s annual conference in Chicago.
Terry Smith is the Andrew W. Mellon Professor of Contemporary Art History and Theory at the University of Pittsburgh. His many books include The Architecture of Aftermath, also published by the University of Chicago Press.
Navigate to the CAA website for more information about the CAA awards and to view the complete list of previous Frank Jewett Mather Award winners.