Guggenheim fellowships awarded to ten Press authors

jacket imageThe John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has released its list of 2007 Fellows and we are pleased to find that ten University of Chicago Press authors have received fellowships. According to the Guggenheim website, “the Guggenheim Fellowship program helps to provide Fellows with blocks of time in which they can work with as much creative freedom as possible.” Recipients include:
Shadi Bartsch, author of The Mirror of the Self: Sexuality, Self-Knowledge, and the Gaze in the Early Roman Empire, and co-editor of Erotikon: Essays on Eros, Ancient and Modern
Sidra DeKoven Ezrahi, author of By Words Alone: The Holocaust in Literature
Michael Gorra, author of After Empire: Scott, Naipaul, Rushdie
Verlyn Klinkenborg, author of The Last Fine Time
Margaretta M. Lovell, author of A Visitable Past: Views of Venice by American Artists, 1860-1915
Michael McCann, author of Rights at Work: Pay Equity Reform and the Politics of Legal Mobilization
Mary Louise Roberts, author of Civilization without Sexes: Reconstructing Gender in Postwar France, 1917-1927, and Disruptive Acts: The New Woman in Fin-de-Siecle France
Laurie Shannon, author of Sovereign Amity: Figures of Friendship in Shakespearean Contexts
Kay Kaufman Shelemay, author of Let Jasmine Rain Down: Song and Remembrance among Syrian Jews
David Gordon White, author of Kiss of the Yogini: “Tantric Sex” in its South Asian Contexts, The Alchemical Body: Siddha Traditions in Medieval India, and Myths of the Dog-Man
Our warm congratulations! View the complete list of 2007 Guggenheim fellows.